Amelia Earhart Fellowship

Fellowship description

Globally, women make up around 25 percent of the workforce in the aerospace industry. In an effort to carry out its mission that women have access to all resources and are represented in decision-making positions on an equal basis with men, Zonta International offers the Amelia Earhart Fellowship.

The Amelia Earhart Fellowship was established in 1938 in honor of famed pilot and Zontian, Amelia Earhart. The US$10,000 Fellowship is awarded annually to up to 30 women pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace engineering and space sciences. It may be used at any university or college offering accredited post-graduate courses and degrees in these fields.

Since the program’s inception in 1938, Zonta has awarded 1,603 Amelia Earhart Fellowships, totaling more than US$10.3 million, to 1,174 women representing 73 countries.

Our Fellows have gone on to become astronauts, aerospace engineers, astronomers, professors, geologists, business owners, heads of companies, even Secretary of the US Air Force.

Read a detailed description of the Amelia Earhart Fellowship.

Find out more about the program's background and statistics.

Download the 2020 Amelia Earhart Fellowship poster. Click here for A4.


Women of any nationality pursuing a Ph.D./doctoral degree who demonstrate a superior academic record conducting research applied to aerospace engineering or space sciences are eligible. It is imperative that students be registered in a full-time Ph.D./doctoral program and have completed at least one year of that program or have received a master’s degree in an aerospace-applied field at the time the application is submitted. Applicants must not graduate from their Ph.D. or doctoral program before April 2021. Please note that post-doctoral research programs are not eligible for the Fellowship. Classified members (club members and individuals with direct membership with Zonta International) and employees of Zonta International and Zonta International Foundation, and their family members (ancestors, descendants, adoptees, siblings, nieces or cousins, and those of their spouse or cohabiting partner), are not eligible to apply for the Fellowship. Note that previous Amelia Earhart Fellows are not eligible to apply to renew the Fellowship for a second year.

Application process

The Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowship Committee reviews the applications and recommends recipients to the Zonta International Board. All applicants are evaluated on the criteria stated in the requirements section of the application. All details of the evaluations are kept confidential; evaluations are not disclosed to applicants. All applicants will be notified of their status by the end of April 2020.


The application period for the 2020 Amelia Earhart Fellowship has closed. The 2021 Amelia Earhart Fellowship application will be available in July 2020.


Amelia Earhart Fellowships are made possible by generous contributions to the Zonta International Foundation Amelia Earhart Fellowship Fund.


Below is a list of the 2019 Amelia Earhart Fellows. Read more about the 2019 Fellows.

Martina Baggio, Italy
Giulia Becatti, Italy
Eva Borakiewicz, Poland and Madagascar
Elodie Bouzekri, France
Kathrine Bretl, United States
Flavia Causa, Italy
Rishita Das, India
Jill Davis, United States
Ingrid El Helou, Lebanon
Ariane Exle, Germany
Emily Jensen, United States
Erica Jenson, United States
Jahnavi Kantharaju, India
Carolin Kissner, Germany
Katherine Kokmanian, Canada
Sireetorn Kuharat, Thailand
Komal Kumari, India
Virginia Notaro, Italy
Sarah O'Meara, United States
Paula do Vale Pereira, Brazil
Hannah Rana, United Kingdom
Shikha Redhal, India
Marine Ruffenach, France
Hannah Sargeant, United Kingdom
Karin Schlottke, Germany
Aarohi Shah, India
Blaga Todorova, Bulgaria
Dea Wangsawijaya, Indonesia
Natalie Wolfenbarger, United States
Lu Zhao, China, PR